Rotary Club 33 of San Diego is proud to announce that Sempra Energy and Mel Katz of Manpower San Diego have been selected as the Exemplary Award winners for the 2013 Business Community Service Awards.

The Exemplary Award honors companies that have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment of service to the community. These are companies that have consistently gone above and beyond the call of duty by offering their professional services and resources to better the San Diego community.

Sempra Energy has been chosen for its long track record of giving to numerous initiatives throughout the community. Specifically, the company has focused on funding community partnerships in support of environmental protection, education development, economic development, emergency preparedness and employee volunteerism.

“All of us at Sempra Energy are extremely proud to have been selected to receive the San Diego Rotary’s Exemplary Award for Community Service. This award recognizes the efforts of our more than 5,000 local employees who contribute their time, money and talents toward strengthening San Diego’s reputation as America’s Finest City. One of our core values is to be a responsible community partner — a value we try to live every day here in San Diego and everywhere we do business,” commented Debra L. Reed, chairman and CEO, Sempra Energy.

Mel Katz, executive officer of Manpower San Diego, is being honored for his leadership in the development of San Diego’s new Central Library, which opens this summer. Katz, who is chairman of the Library Foundation, said: “After 30 years of dreaming, San Diego will actually have a new, state of the art library. This library is so much more than a building with shelves and books. It is a community gathering place where San Diegans will celebrate reading and culture, hear great music, appreciate artwork and discuss critical issues. It is a technology center, a career center and a high school. This library is being built thanks to amazing philanthropists who have contributed 38 percent of the total price. This new civic icon is truly a public-private partnership.”

Previous Exemplary Award winners include Qualcomm Inc., Price Charities, The San Diego Chargers, and PRA Destination Management.

Sponsorship for this year’s awards comes from Higgs Fletcher & Mack. The awards ceremony will be held June 6 from noon-1:30 p.m. at the Sheraton Hotel San Diego & Marina’s grand ballroom.

The deadline to submit nominations for the 2013 Business Community Service Awards is April 19. To submit a nomination and for more information, visit

— SDBJ Staff Report