Sempra Energy (NYSE: SRE) made several executive appointments on April 10 as the San Diego-based company implements its leadership succession plan.

Last month, Debra L. Reed announced her plans to step down as Sempra's CEO and president May 1, and fully retire as chairman Dec. 1.

The company previously announced that Jeffrey W. Martin was appointed her successor as Sempra's CEO and Joseph A. Householder, her successor as the company’s president, both effective May 1. Martin currently serves as executive vice president and chief financial officer. Householder is Sempra's corporate group president of infrastructure businesses.

Householder has also been appointed Sempra's chief operating officer, effective May 1. Also, effective immediately, Dennis V. Arriola has been appointed Sempra's chief strategy officer and executive vice president of external affairs and South America. Previously, Arriola was Sempra's executive vice president of corporate strategy and external affairs, and now has added responsibility for oversight of the company’s South American operations.

Additionally, Trevor I. Mihalik has been appointed Sempra's executive vice president and chief financial officer and Peter R. Wall, the company’s vice president, controller and chief accounting officer, both effective May 1.

"The recent appointments reflect the thoughtful implementation of our leadership succession plan and alignment of our organization with our strategic priorities," Martin said in the news release.

Sempra, based in San Diego, is a Fortune 500 energy services holding company with 2017 revenues of more than $11 billion.